This Marvelous Monday Brought to You by Airman!

Today is a glorious Monday. I’m trying to contain my tears as I write this. Airman, for the first time in years, was telling the truth a month ago when he informed me that he was off to rehab. He called me today, and I nearly cried my eyes out while talking to him. The boy I got to know 7 years ago was more apparent in him today than has been in the past 5 years. The USAF changed him in ways I couldn’t understand and somewhere along the way his body fell in love with alcohol. That love consumed him and the boy I knew disappeared. His whole life revolved around the bottle. He lost touch with his family. Our conversations continued, but they revolved around his “Check out how much I can drink” or “How cool is it that I party this hard” themes.

That’s not to say that Airman hasn’t been a super great friend to me in the past 5 years. He has, and I am eternally grateful to him for all that he has done for and meant to me. But the boy who grew up in MadCo disappeared into the shell of a diehard alcoholic. I think I knew this, but even I wasn’t willing to admit it. Thankfully, the USAF caught on and ordered him to rehab. And after a month of rehab, I talked to the boy who existed Pre-USAF. He has reconciled with his family (his WHOLE family), and for the first time I believe him when he says he’s coming home.

And as beautiful as all this is, I realize that when he hits that base again for his 30 days that’ll be the real test. I hope that he is strong enough to stay far away from the devil’s drink (lol just a little Southern Baptistery for you ;]), and I hope that his record stays super squeaky clean for the next 1.5 years. Then this little jaunt with the good ol’ USAF will be ancient history, and Airman can start a new life for himself (one in which he can carry gun [ah he has such high aspirations for himself!]).

For me, it’s been amazing just being able to really talk to him again. All of that to say that today has been a stupendous Monday. Tomorrow the bullets shall return. But for today I think I’ll get back to playing catch up on my REAL work 🙂 Have a great Monday, y’all!

About queenofcrazy

I'm a (not nearly so) wild and (definitely still) crazy mama. I'm married to the love of my life, Jeff, and we have a beautiful little girl, Kaitybug. I am addicted to Mountain Dew and good deals. I'm blessed with a job that I love and a mother who makes working possible. My life is filled to overflowing with wonderful people, and I'm blessed beyond measure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

