Day of Hearts: The Good, The Bad, & The Amazing!

The probably not so much awaited Day of Hearts recap.

I drug my little butt out of bed in the wee hours of the morning to start the day off right. On my way into work, I stopped at Dunkin Donuts to pick up a dozen donuts for the office and a blueberry muffin for my boss. The first two hours of work went swimmingly with faculty members wandering through my office for coffee and donuts.

And by midmorning the magic had begun, the gorgeous roses sent by my daddy arrived and reigned supreme on my desk for the rest of the day. But by mid afternoon I was in an all out funk. My plans were not cemented, and the morning high was wearing off. Not to mention that Lady A was not loving me at the moment (but when does she ever love me …) Thankfully, though, the story does not end here. So we’ll fast forward 3 hours to get to the good stuff.

I got off work and headed home with the intention of going to the track to walk with my sister. When I pulled in my driveway, I realized that my sister’s car was in my driveway which seemed a little odd since she usually meets me at the track. I walked in my house which had been transformed into a Valentine wonderland with Sibling in the kitchen baking cookies. It was super awesome! Thanks, Pinterest, for helping Sibling pimp out my house!! And thanks Sibling for making my day ROCK!

Sibling sewed this felt heart garland for my house. Similar to the one she sewed me for the office.

A very Valentiney tablescape (complete with my roses from Daddy).

Sibling modpodged a cute Mason Jar candle!!!

She colored a little fridge art for me!

Check out the mirror art! But please ignore the bathroom ....

More mirror art. Difficult to photograph.

This adorable piece of art is now the focal point of my living room wall. Thanks, Sibling!!

We decided to forgo the exercise and stuff our face with ooey gooeyness instead. So we ate hot out of the oven chocolate chip cookies and chit chatted. Then Sibling helped me finish up the Valentines for our teenagers before heading home to spend quality time with Mom. And I did a quick change and headed over to The Geek’s house.

I have to call this a date. Because I was informed MULTIPLE times last night that it was one. And I guess it was. I got myself all gussied up and headed over to meet The Geek. I took Valentines to his brothers and mom who have been SOOOO nice to me! And then proceeded to attempt to make a decision. The agreement was that The Geek would drive and pay if I would decide where we ate. So, I narrowed it down to Applebee’s, Chili’s, or IHOP. The Geek laughed at the IHOP choice. And since it was late and we didn’t want to overeat, we decided to go a different route. We started at Applebee’s but couldn’t find any parking, so we scooted down the road to Chili’s. The wait was 45 minutes long which is [a] awful for a Tuesday but [b] fantastic for Valentines Day! And we enjoyed every minute of it. We talked, laughed, people watched, and joked until it was time to be seated. We totally rocked the 2 for $20 and ordered WAY too much food. Our table was filled with chips, salsa, queso, fried cheese, and our entrees. The Geek got a steak with loaded mashed potatoes, and I got the Margarita Grilled Chicken which was DELICIOUS (and is also going to be my lunch …). We talked, laughed, ate, and did some more people watching. Though admittedly we were a bit self absorbed. To be honest going on a date with one of your super awesome friends kind of rocks. We finished up our meal and headed home full and happy. Once home we debated movie choices because our favorite pastime together is lying on the couch watching a movie. This part is almost sweet in a silly, geeky way. The conversation went like this: The Geek: “I don’t have any chick flicks …” Me: “So? I watched those Saturday. I know you’re a guy …” The Geek: “But it’s Valentines Day … And you don’t like scary stuff” Me: “It doesn’t matter. It’s your turn to pick the movie.” The Geek: “Let’s watch anime …” So we watched anime. In some odd way, it was perfect. I had a fantastic night thanks to all the people who love me. I’m so grateful to be surrounded by so much love!! I hope you all had a super fantastic Valentines. I’d love to hear all about it!

About queenofcrazy

I'm a (not nearly so) wild and (definitely still) crazy mama. I'm married to the love of my life, Jeff, and we have a beautiful little girl, Kaitybug. I am addicted to Mountain Dew and good deals. I'm blessed with a job that I love and a mother who makes working possible. My life is filled to overflowing with wonderful people, and I'm blessed beyond measure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

