Saturday Challenge – #9

Education. Is. So. Important.

A random degree. Not so much.

But the ability to read and write well. Being able to carry on an intelligent conversation. So important. I say this as I write a post riddled with grammar errors. However, I once dated a guy (who in these posts is known as Twelve or DB #12) whose conversations were so unintelligent that it very nearly turned my brain into mush (and not in a sweet romantic way). The boy was 21 with no high school education. And while the boy had the potential to achieve his GED and all the knowledge that comes from a high school or even college education. He chose not to. He oftentimes told me that he worked from his own dictionary and that he couldn’t care less that he couldn’t read, spell, or write. Or that all conversations had to be dumbed down for him. Literally, I would have to wrack my brain to come up with synonyms of words that I thought were commonplace. I am in no way trying to say that Twelve is dumb. He is not. However, his choosing not to be educated put him WAY behind in the world. Until I met Twelve, I thought that extensive education was silly. And while I still believe the way society holds a piece of paper (i.e. a college degree) in such high esteem is ludicrous, I now understand just how VERY important it is to have a basic education.

I realize that the above paragraph makes me sound very American. I am well aware that children in other countries would love to be educated. I am well aware that those children hold education in high esteem, and I in no way mean to make light of their plight in life. I am simply attempting to tell you an example of how I came to realize the importance of education in the boundaries of a plush America lifestyle.

 

About queenofcrazy

I'm a (not nearly so) wild and (definitely still) crazy mama. I'm married to the love of my life, Jeff, and we have a beautiful little girl, Kaitybug. I am addicted to Mountain Dew and good deals. I'm blessed with a job that I love and a mother who makes working possible. My life is filled to overflowing with wonderful people, and I'm blessed beyond measure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

