What’s in a name?

Hmmmm …. maybe this Saturday I want to write a REAL post. No linky. No funny business. No list…. I see you laughing. Do you not believe me? [Think “T’s gonna move that desk?”] Well, you should believe me. I do feel like writing. The great thing about this blog is that I’m writing it for me. I just let you guys come along for the ride ;] Of course, that’s neither here nor there. Anyhoo, I hit up NaBloPoMo and searched until I found a prompt that I liked. And now we’re off to the crazy world of Annie’s mind.

Do you like your name?

I didn’t like it at all when I was younger for multiple reasons. Number one, my name is not a normal name for a girl my age. Add to that my natural shyness [what? you don’t believe I was shy? Trust me I really was!] and you get a constantly mispronounced, misspelled name. For example, in my younger days I would answer to “Anne” or “Amy” rather than correct someone. And I have at least 3 cards/letters/checks/etc that have my name spelled “A-N-N-E” or “A-N-N-Y”.  Number 2, I was not a fan of sharing my name with a famous redhead. More specifically, I did not like the phrase, “Oh as in Little Orphan Annie!” Number 3 was definitely this infamous line, “Oh your name is Annie? We have/had a dog named Annie!”. Really? You just compared me to your dog? And last but certainly not least on the list of reasons why the younger me tried to change my name MULTIPLE times was the catchy lil song “ANNIE ANNIE BO BANNIE, FEE FI FO FANNIE … ANNIE!!” which was often sang shouted at me on the playground, etc.

Having said all that, you’ll be glad to hear that I have grown up since then and have come to terms with my name. We are not absolute best friends yet, but it’s growing on me. I mean after all I do share it with 3 fantastic women – my grandmother and two of my great-grandmothers. I have the same name as the lead character in “Annie, Go Get Your Gun”. And I’m finally assertive enough to make certain someone pronounces and spells my name correctly when necessary. I’m also content with answering to anything remotely close to my name. I don’t cringe when reminded that there is a movie and a redheaded orphan that share my name, and I don’t necessarily freak out when people sing the “fee fi fo fanny” song. I could, however, live forever without dog comparisons. [just saying]

Two full out paragraphs to say this: “I hated my name growing up, but I wouldn’t change it for the world. I am Annie. I couldn’t imagine being anyone else. Annie means “blessed with grace”. I don’t think it gets any better than that.”

About queenofcrazy

I'm a (not nearly so) wild and (definitely still) crazy mama. I'm married to the love of my life, Jeff, and we have a beautiful little girl, Kaitybug. I am addicted to Mountain Dew and good deals. I'm blessed with a job that I love and a mother who makes working possible. My life is filled to overflowing with wonderful people, and I'm blessed beyond measure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s in a name?

  1. Michelle says:

    Annie, that’s a beautiful name with a beautiful meaning.

Leave a Reply

