June is 22!

Happy Birthday, June!

I don’t remember the day you were born, but I have certainly watched many a video of me holding you shortly thereafter. I’m not certain that I thought you were the greatest thing on Earth, but I know I laid claim to you soon enough. And then you were, “My baby!”

Apparently you were a happy, quiet baby (probably because I never let you get a word in edgewise). And I protected you like a big sister should – by singing (“Leave Jamie Alone!!!!”)

Somewhere between claiming you as my own and you catching up with my superior maturity level (HAHAHAHAHA!), there were quite a few “pesky little sister” years.

Thankfully, by high school we were both on a downhill slide towards immaturity. Somehow this new found freedom brought us together. During those years, you were my biggest fan during all our guard shows, my sounding board and confidant, my prom date, and my partner in all things not crime related.

The past few years have found us far away from each other. I cried at the thought of you moving away. I mean after all who was going to sing at the top of their lungs to scare away the bad people!

Thankfully, you met Cricket along with many other awesome friends who made you smile, procrastinate, laugh, and oftentimes get into trouble. However, we all felt better at home knowing you had someone near you who could kick butt and take names.

I’m not sure when you took over that role. It still amazes me that somewhere along the course of the past four years you have walked right out of your shell. Now you talk to strangers, order your own food at restaurants, dance on bars, and confront teachers/peers/strange people/etc.

And you teach munchkins! I have to say that I’m super proud of you. You have come a long way from the happy, quiet baby that climbed up on the piano stool to bang out a song with me.

You’re an accomplished piano player and quite loquacious. You are one semester away from being the first person in our family to obtain a college degree. You’re silly, fun, and confident. And super awesome! Take some time today to celebrate!

Sibling, you’re the one person who shares my experiences and life outlook. You don’t judge me (at least not out loud), and you’re always there for me. You are usually described as sweet, but I think that’s only because you’re quiet. You can be sweet, but I would more readily describe you as dependable, trustworthy, and kindhearted. Your laugh is infectious (and really loud). You have few inhibitions and love to be silly. I love that about you. I love that you are secure in who you are and your identity in Christ. I love that you love Jesus (and probably Cheez-Its too.)

I love your sense of humor and your expansive memory. (Now on the trip to Washington, D.C. where did we go? where did we stay? And what shoes did you wear? ;]) I love your kickbutt attitude and the fact that while you might hurt a fly it’s doubtful that you could actually hurt a person.

I love that you’re my sister. And I’m thankful daily that God graced me with you in my life. I’m so proud of all that you have accomplished in your 22 years, and I know that you will continue to do amazing things! You are wonderful, awesome, crazy, and beautiful. And I love you with my whole heart. May your birthday be filled with laughter, food, fun, and happiness.

Happy Birthday, sweet sister!

About queenofcrazy

I'm a (not nearly so) wild and (definitely still) crazy mama. I'm married to the love of my life, Jeff, and we have a beautiful little girl, Kaitybug. I am addicted to Mountain Dew and good deals. I'm blessed with a job that I love and a mother who makes working possible. My life is filled to overflowing with wonderful people, and I'm blessed beyond measure.
This entry was posted in Birthday. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June is 22!

  1. Pingback: and the greatest of these is love. | Queen of Crazy

Leave a Reply

