My Heart Hurts …

I know that today is the day I list all the things I love, but I’m struggling today. A young police officer lost his life yesterday and the murderer is still at large. And my heart is hurting … I’m going to start with a Wee Bit About Me in hopes that it helps me prepare for the things that I love.

{one} what was your first job?

I worked with my dad from the early age of 9 [yes, i know that’s not technically legal]. He started up a lawn maintenance business, and I was his trusted lawn mower riding assistant until I was in college. Then I got my first desk job at Emmanuel College. I loved the two years I worked in that office!


{two} have you ever seen a stand up comedian?

Not live, but how cool would that be! I think I would rather go see comedy than go to a live concert.

{three} when was the last time you played mini golf?

Oh wow! Hilton Head? That was last summer. Ok ladies I vote we hit up a putt-putt place in Tybee this weekend!

{four} what was the last picture you took?

The flowers on the table? Or my mom and sister both trying to hold the remotes “just right” so that the tv show they were watching would continue to come in without glitching.

{five} burnt food: yes or no?

I do NOT eat burnt food. Picky? oh yeah. I don’t even like really browned food. Do I ever burn food? haha oh yeah! Grilled cheese … everytime!

{six} if you have a pocket full of change, what do you do with it?

Head to the office next door an buy a Mountain Dew or hit up the snack machines downstairs. Yes, I know. I need to save that change, but junk food is just too tempting.

{seven} can you touch your tongue to your nose?

I so can! I would insert a picture, but it’s really not pretty.

{eight} do you scrapbook?

I tried to … but I’m too spastic. Not nearly focused enough.

{nine} do you buy lottery tickets?

Nope.

{ten} do you prefer to be in front of the camera or behind it?

Dress me up and make me feel pretty, and I’ll pose all day. Otherwise just give me my camera and let me be the amateur photographer.

 

Now it’s time to share what I’m loving …..

I’m loving Twitter. It’s keeping me constantly updated.

In that same vein, I’m loving Facebook, the UGA listserv, and our local papers. I feel like I need constant information and sitting at my desk it’s nice to have these resources available to keep me informed and up to date.

I’m loving how the people of Athens have come together in the face of tragedy. I’m loving the outpouring of support and compassion from this community.

I’m loving that my family is home and safe.

I’m loving that God has blessed me with a little more time with the ones I love.

I’m loving that God is in control, and He is good.

I’m loving that there are men and women who risk their lives daily for my safety.

And I’m loving that today is J’s birthday. [See my next post for more on that ;)]

 

About queenofcrazy

I'm a (not nearly so) wild and (definitely still) crazy mama. I'm married to the love of my life, Jeff, and we have a beautiful little girl, Kaitybug. I am addicted to Mountain Dew and good deals. I'm blessed with a job that I love and a mother who makes working possible. My life is filled to overflowing with wonderful people, and I'm blessed beyond measure.
This entry was posted in Wee Bit of Me on Wednesday, What I'm Loving Wednesday. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Heart Hurts …

  1. I am from Georgia as well. My prayers are with Officer Christian’s family and friends right now. Also with the family and friends of the wounded officer. I can’t remember his name at this moment. I hope they find the guy soon!

  2. kit says:

    Great things that you are loving today!!!

  3. Cate says:

    We have been to Tybee too. I love the ocean and can’t wait to go back.

Leave a Reply

