miscellany monday

ONE: Cleaning Out

Sunshine brings out my productive side. I’ve been hibernating for weeks and now I’m finally getting around to cleaning. We’re in the process of tearing down the shed that’s older than me and cleaning up our redneck yard just a bit. A few fun finds in the super tall snakey grass yard were the bed rails, a rusted paint pan, my dad’s boy scout mess kit, & a few horseshoes. Thankfully, this cleaning bug spilled over into my room. So, now there is a path so I can actually walk and my closet has been re-organized!

TWO: Community Theater

I had the awesome opportunity to catch the Cold Sassy Players original play “Got Talent?” from the Lumpkin Family Series of plays. They’re running an encore of this particular performance March 10, 11, & 12 a the Commerce Cultural Center. If you haven’t been, you definitely need to go! We took a few of our teens because our Sunday School director is a member of the Cold Sassy Players and was “Benny” in this play. (If you go, say hey to Roger!) And we laughed so hard we nearly cried. Our teens were quoting the play all the way home. Definitely a great way to spend a Saturday night!

THREE: Art Projects

Our first project in Art Appreciation is Blind Contour Drawing which is basically drawing an object without looking at the paper on which you are drawing. The drawing should be based off your viewing the object only. Mine so far look like a five year old drew them. I love them. I think I’m kind of addicted to the freedom of them. They’re not traditional, but I find them beautiful.

** Will be edited to include pictures **

FOUR: Happy Wall

Today is the day to decorate the Happy Wall again! Mardi Gras is coming to Joyce’s office today! Hopefully tomorrow I’ll remember to bring in my beads for Wiki. In the past few years, I’ve become a big fan of the carnival season and an even bigger fan of King Cake. I plan on attempting my first one(or two) this year. I’ll definitely keep you updated on that ;]

FIVE: (Fake) Tattoos

Remember those wet and apply tattoos from when you were a kid? I decided this morning that I want an awesome art piece that is as impermanent as those. My sister once drew on me with washable marker. That turned out to be a mess. The ink transferred itself onto everything I came into contact with. Logistical and knowledgeable people, do you think there is an ink that is (a) non-transferable (b) not harmful to humans [mainly me] and (c) that eventually comes off?

SIX: Mexican Obsession

For a girl who abhors all things even slightly spicy, it seems strange that I am currently drawn to Mexican food. We grew up eating international foods in my house. My mom’s not a traditional Southern cook so if it was quick and easy we ate it. Both Italian and Mexican cooking (at least in our house) is relatively easy and quick. Needless to say I ate a lot of pasta and quesadillas growing up. Now a days as I’m starting to branch out and eat lots of new and different things, I’m still perplexed by my love of Mexican food. But today if you asked what my favorite food was I’d hem and haw and eventually tell you that at the moment it’s a tie between fresh GA shrimp and tacos ;]

SEVEN: Good Looking Men

Day 18 – A picture of the sexiest man alive

(^^ Not gonna happen just yet. I’m being stingy with my pictures.)

In the meantime, enjoy these good looking runner ups ;]

 

About queenofcrazy

I'm a (not nearly so) wild and (definitely still) crazy mama. I'm married to the love of my life, Jeff, and we have a beautiful little girl, Kaitybug. I am addicted to Mountain Dew and good deals. I'm blessed with a job that I love and a mother who makes working possible. My life is filled to overflowing with wonderful people, and I'm blessed beyond measure.
This entry was posted in miscellany monday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

